Lack of Employment

Some of the youths in Mathare are graduates some have never even seen the door of a school gate. Because of lack of education the youths are often engaged in irresponsible behavior like prostitution, robbery, drugs.

To present to you a short story about myself. I am a graduate, I got a diploma in refrigeration and air-conditioning but couldn’t find work. I at least managed to get involved with Map Kibera Trust where I gained another experience in mapping. I don’t know if this will offer me and my colleagues a lasting employment opportunity.

I hope for a lasting solution to the problem of unemployment. I hope that one day we can stop worrying about jobs and get employment in order to secure peaceful futures for us and our families.

— Michael

Leave a Reply

